Although Morehead is the county seat of Rowan County,
other settlements were larger and more progressive
in Rowan County's early history. Farmers was first called CrossRoads
because it was situated where the road running parallel to the Licking River crossed the road running East and West.
As early as 1792 settlers came to CrossRoads after receiving land grants from the U.S.
Government. This quilt pattern has been chosen to commemorate the historical
contribution of Farmers to Rowan County.
Another quilt square, which also forms part of the "Clothesline of Quilts" is located on a
former tobacco and livestock barn, which had spring fed watering
troughs. The barn is behind the Ole Thyme Sweet Shop and Tea Room on US 60 west at
Farmers and is owned by Jack and Joyce Williams. The name of this quilt is Circle of Love,
which was hand stitched by Clara Williams for her son Jack Williams in 1955.
There are also a couple of quilt squares located along the scenic CCC Trail (KY 3317).
These are located near the CCC Trail Vineyard.